How To Become A Bail Bondsman In CT
Here is a comprehensive step-by-step guide on how to become a bail bondsman in Connecticut as of 2023:
Meet the Qualifications: You must be at least 18 years old, a U.S. citizen, and have a clean financial record. Additionally, you must have no convictions involving a felony offense or a misdemeanor offense related to theft, narcotics, or assault. You must also be able to produce two character references and pay a $250 initial license fee. Furthermore, any person who furnishes bail in five or more criminal cases in any one year, whether for compensation or otherwise, must obtain a license.
Complete Educational and Training Requirements: In Connecticut, it’s common for prospective bail bond agents to have associate’s or bachelor’s degrees in finance, economics, or business management. You must also complete a 24-hour pre-licensing course that is offered through a variety of state-approved colleges and training academies. The course will cover topics found on the state licensing exam including the Legal Framework, Bail Bond Principles and Practices, and Insurance Regulation.
Pass the Connecticut Licensing Exam: The state bail bond licensing exam is a 60 multiple-choice question exam that must be completed within one hour. The test is offered through the independent test provider Prometric. The fee for this examination is $150, and if you fail to pass, you can retake the exam. The scores will be good for one year following the exam.
Apply for the Connecticut State License: To obtain a Connecticut bail bond agent license, you must submit an Individual Surety Bail Bond Agent License Application, $250 for the initial license fee, a full face passport-size photo, a copy of your birth certificate or naturalization document, a report from a credit bureau, two character references, a pre-licensing course completion certificate, and your score from the licensing exam. The license is good for two years. License renewal is contingent upon payment of the $100 license renewal fee. You can apply for the license at the Connecticut State Police, Special License and Firearms Unit. The cost of the license is $200, and it’s issued for a period of 1 year.
Join a Firm or Establish a Company in Connecticut: Many newly licensed bail bond agents join an existing bail company like Connecticut Bail Bonds Group to become better acquainted with the industry. Alternatively, you can choose to establish your own bail company, which requires the backing of an insurance company. To join a bail bondsman association in Connecticut, visit the Bail Association of Connecticut.
Remember, as a licensed bail bondsman, you are required to submit monthly and annual activity reports to the Special License and Firearms Unit2. Additionally, you must renew your professional bail bond license every year, which costs $200.
Lastly, the bail bond industry in Connecticut is tightly regulated by the Connecticut Insurance Department (CID). In addition to regulations governing record keeping, monthly reports, collateral security and premium financing, bail bondsman must pay an annual $450 bail bond assessment fee to support the CID’s rigorous audits.